What happens when you star a channel on Slack?
To help you keep track of important conversations, you can star a channel or direct message (DM). Once you star a conversation, the Starred section will appear in your sidebar, allowing you to easily find your starred conversations whenever you’d like.
What does it mean to star a conversation in Slack?
Start a conversation with the right people by sending a message in a channel or a DM. Say you have a question about a project. Send a message to the dedicated project channel to get an answer from the right people. If your question is only for a specific teammate, you can send them a DM.
How do you star a message in Slack?
Open the Slack app, go to your workspace, select a channel, and locate a message to star. Once you’ve found that message, long press it and tap Star Message (Figure A). Starring a message in Slack. And that’s it to star a message.
What does this symbol mean in Slack?
It means that one of your messages in that channel failed to send. If you jump into the channel, you’ll see the same icon next to the message in question — tap it to try resending again.
How many Slack channels is too many?
There’s really no such thing as “too many channels”
Big teams that successfully use Slack have a large number of channels, even into the thousands. In the course of research interviews with half a dozen large organizations, we noticed total channels were often two to three times the number of employees.
How do you become a pro on Slack?
How to move your work into Slack like a pro
- Create a channel for your project, ideally using a naming convention, like #proj-website-launch (“proj” = project), so that conversations are easy to find as they grow.
- Add all the key files your team needs for the project or topic.
- Add all the teammates who are involved.
What does closing a conversation do on Slack?
Once you close or archive a conversation in Slack, it’ll automatically close in Intercom. Likewise, if you close a conversation in Intercom, it’ll be archived in Slack.
What does closing a DM on Slack do?
Available on all plans
With Slack Connect, you can start a direct message (DM) with someone outside your company. If you no longer need to DM with that person, you can end the conversation. The DM will be archived, but you’ll still be able to view the messages and files.
How do I know if someone read my Slack message?
Unfortunately there is no read receipt feature, although it is on their dev backlog according to this Tweet thread. There isn’t much you can do outside of asking if they saw it. Some other possibilities: Look at their screen to see if their Slack app is showing the unread message notification.
What happened to the star in Slack?
Starred items are now called Saved
Now it’s a bit clearer: Saved items are the messages and files you want to track privately in your own list located in this menu, and Starred channels will continue to show up under a header in your app’s channels.
Can people see saved items Slack?
You can save messages and files in Slack to easily come back to them later. Your saved items are only visible to you and can be viewed in one place from your desktop or mobile device. Tip: To make a message or file easier to reference for other members, try pinning the item to a conversation.