You asked: Can you bulk delete messages in slack?

How do I mass delete slack messages?

Note: It’s not possible to bulk delete messages. Owners and admins can delete a channel to remove all its messages. Owners on paid plans can also set a retention policy to automatically delete messages after a certain amount of time.

How do I select multiple messages in slack?

1 Answer. You can currently only select one option. Slack does not support choosing more than one option in a message.

How do I delete bulk channels in slack?

How to Delete an Archived Slack Channel

  1. Select the Channel Browser.
  2. Select Filter > All channel types, then select Archived Channels from the drop-down menu.
  3. Select the channel you want to delete. …
  4. Select the More icon again, and select Additional Options.
  5. Tick the box next to Yes, permanently delete this channel.

Can we delete messages on slack?

By default, any member can delete their messages, but owners and admins can restrict this permission. … Hover over the message you want to delete. Click the three dots icon. Click Delete message.

How do I delete conversations on slack?

How to delete Slack messages on a computer

  1. Open up Slack.
  2. Hover your cursor over the message you want to delete, and click the three dots that appear to the right of the message.
  3. Select “Delete message” from the menu that appears. …
  4. Confirm your decision by clicking “Delete” in the pop-up that appears.
THIS IS FUNNING:  How do I enable dark mode in Jira?

Can slack admins see deleted messages?

Slack does not archive deleted messages or provide a way to recover deleted information. Once a user deletes a particular message, that message is gone forever. However, Slack may still retain information about deleted messages that can be included in an electronic discovery export.

How do I delete multiple conversations in Slack?

@jamaalthomas Team admins can, via my.slack.com/archives . On a channel page, click the red “Delete messages” link to select multiple.

Why do Slack direct messages disappear?

Once you have more than 11 direct messages (DMs) or group DMs open, any additional direct messages are expected to fall off the list if the DM is not opened during your current session, there has been no activity in the DM in the past week, or there are no unread messages in the DM.

Can you see edit history on Slack?

Edit history is currently only available for workspace owners to view in data exports. Expanding this feature to allow users to see edit history in real time is a nifty idea though! We’ll pass this suggestion along to our product team to review. Thank you!

How do you clean up Slack?

We’ve assembled a six-item spring cleaning checklist for doing just that.

  1. Archive inactive channels. …
  2. Mute channels you seldom use—but still need. …
  3. Don’t stress over leaving a channel. …
  4. Keep purpose and pins up to date. …
  5. Turn group chats into channels. …
  6. Organize your channel sidebar.

How do I clean up a Slack channel?

How to delete a Slack channel

  1. Sign into your account and navigate to the workspace with the channel at issue.
  2. Click on the channel on the left-hand column.
  3. Click on the gear icon near the top of the screen.
  4. Choose “Additional options…” from the dropdown menu.
  5. Select “Delete this channel.”
THIS IS FUNNING:  How do I link teams in Jira?

How do I free up space on Slack?

To do so, head over to Slack, tap on Apps and search for Slack Manager. Select it which will latch it your Slack window. Then navigate to settings and all you have to do is scroll down and click on the Delete (trash can) icon. That’s it.