Can I delete the general channel in Slack?

How do I delete a general in Slack?

Remove people from channels

  1. Open the channel that you want to remove someone from.
  2. Click on the cluster of profile pictures in the top right.
  3. Find the person that you want to remove and click on their name.
  4. Below their profile information, click on Remove from [channel name].
  5. Click on Yes, remove them to confirm.

Can I change the general channel on Slack?

Select Settings & administration, then Organization settings. Under Settings in the left column, click Channel Management. Under Default org-wide channels, hover over a channel, then click the three dots icon to the right. Click Edit channel settings and make the adjustments you’d like.

How do I archive a general channel in Slack?

Note: Unlike other Slack channels, the #general channel can’t be archived, so it won’t include an archive option.

Can I make the general channel private on Slack?

The #general channel can’t be converted to private. Channels with people outside your company will only be converted to private for the organization that makes the change. Files shared in the channel won’t become private.

THIS IS FUNNING:  Who introduced Agile methodology?

What is general channel in Slack?

Every Slack workspace has a #general channel, which is the only channel that members (but not guests) are automatically added to and are unable to leave. The #general channel works best when it’s used to share announcements with members of your workspace.

How do you delete a channel?

Delete your YouTube channel:

  1. Sign in to YouTube Studio.
  2. From the left sidebar, select Settings .
  3. Select Channel Advanced Settings.
  4. ​At the bottom, select Remove YouTube Content. …
  5. Select I want to permanently delete my content.
  6. Select the boxes to confirm you want to delete your channel.
  7. Select Delete my content.

Can slack admins see private channels?

According to @SlackHQ (the official Slack twitter account), “owners can only see the private channels that they are a member of”.

How do I make a channel read only in slack?

Click Settings in the left column, then select Organization Policies. Select the Permissions tab. Next to Channel Management Restrictions, click Add Policy. Under Who can manage posting permissions in channels, select an option from the drop-down menu.

Why can’t I delete Slack channel?

If you can’t delete the channel, you will need to contact your IT team, and they can delete the channel.

How do I permanently delete a channel from my team?

Go to the desktop or web app to delete a channel. next to the channel name and select Delete channel. Note: Team owners get to decide which team members can delete and restore channels.

Why can’t I archive a Slack channel?

Any channel member can easily archive a Slack channel, even if you use the free version of Slack. However, if the owner restricted this ability, you won’t have the option to archive. The main channel, however, generally labelled #general, can never be archived. Visit Business Insider’s homepage for more stories.

THIS IS FUNNING:  How do you stop a distraction in Slack?